This page has two jobs. First, it explains every line printed on the panel of the bottle we sell, vitamin, mineral and plant alike, what each one is, and what the research does and does not say about it, including who was in each study, at what amount and who paid for it. Second, and this is the part most advertising pages leave out, it lists the headlines we run, tells you which ones are exaggerated, and separates the small number of things that are genuinely supported by evidence from the many that are not.
You almost certainly arrived here from an advertisement. The headline you clicked was written by us and paid for by us to appear next to real news stories. It was designed to make you stop scrolling. Several of our headlines overstate what science actually shows, and a few attribute statements to experts who do not exist.
Everything on this site is a paid advertisement for a product we sell. If you buy through a link on any of our pages, we are paid a commission. That is the reason this site exists.
The product is a bottle of sixty vegetable capsules sold by WOW MD LLC of Missouri City, Texas, as a dietary supplement. Two capsules are one serving and the bottle holds thirty servings. A serving carries twenty-two vitamins and minerals, each with a printed amount, adding to roughly 434 milligrams, and then a single proprietary blend line of 609 milligrams shared among eighteen plant extracts and nutrients with no amount printed for any of them. The label states that the product contains soy and fish, named as tuna, and the listing carries a California notice about exposure to chemicals including lead. It is not a medicine, it is not meant for any medical condition, and no study has ever tested these forty substances together in anyone. The label carries the standard statement that its claims have not been evaluated by the FDA. No food, drink or supplement on this page is a substitute for your own clinician.
If you are genuinely worried about your memory, the single most useful thing you can do is book an appointment with your own clinician. That costs you nothing from us, and a proper conversation about your nights, your hearing, what you take daily and your habits is worth more than anything we are selling. We would rather you close this page and make that call than buy something under a false impression.
These are the headlines we have run, grouped by the claim they make. The right-hand column is our own plain assessment. We have marked each family of headlines as Exaggerated, Partly true, Withdrawn, Our headline was wrong or Broadly supported.
| The headline as you saw it | What is actually behind it |
|---|---|
| "Mental Decline Begins When Seniors Can't Spell These 3 Words. Test Now""Top Doctors Say Mental Decline Begins When Seniors Can't Pronounce These 3 Phrases. Can You?""MDs Say Mental Decline Begins When Seniors Can't Pronounce These 3 Phrases. Can You?""Memory Decline Begins When Seniors Say These 3 Phrases (See The List)""Declining Memory Begins When Seniors Say These 7 Phrases. See Which Ones" | Exaggerated There is no set of three words, three phrases or seven phrases whose spelling or pronunciation marks the beginning of anything. Nothing "begins" at a word. Word tasks do appear inside the short memory checks clinicians use, but those checks are given in person and read alongside your history, what you take daily and your age. Failing a word online means nothing on its own: plenty of people stumble over a word when they are tired, nervous or being timed. "Top doctors" and "MDs" refer to no specific person. See section 4. |
| "Japan's Oldest Doctors Say Memory Loss Isn't Age: Just Avoid Drinking These 3 Beverages""Japan's Greatest Doctors Say Memory Loss Isn't Age: Just Avoid Drinking These 3 Beverages""Japan's Oldest Doctors Say Memory Loss Isn't Age: Just Avoid Eating These 3 Foods""Japan's Oldest Doctors Say Memory Loss Isn't Age: Just Stop Eating These 3 Foods" | Exaggerated No group of Japanese doctors issued this statement. There is no such panel, no such list, and no source we can point you to. Japan appears in the headline because it is widely associated with long life, which makes the claim feel credible. That is a marketing decision, not a citation. The second half is also wrong. Memory changes with age for everyone, and no diet removes that. What is true is narrower: certain long-term drinking and eating patterns travel with faster slippage on thinking tests in large population studies. [1] [2] Association is not proof of cause, and "just avoid these three" is not how any of it works. |
| "Nobel Prize's Doctors Say Memory Loss Isn't Age: Just Stop Eating These 3 Foods" | Withdrawn We retract this one outright. No Nobel laureate has endorsed this page, this product, or any list of three foods on our behalf. Attaching the Nobel Prize to an advertisement implies an authority that does not exist and we should not have run it. |
| "The Overlooked Boxed Cereal Now Tied to 8 Out of 10 Memory Cases" | Our headline was wrong There is no such statistic. No study ties any cereal to eight out of ten cases of anything, "memory cases" is not a category any researcher uses, and no cereal has been "overlooked" by anyone: the sugar figure is printed on the side of every box. The number was invented for the headline and we withdraw it. The grain of truth is the same as for the other cereal headlines below: a diet heavy in ultra-processed food, the sweet cereal shelf included, travels in a large Brazilian study with somewhat faster slippage on thinking tests over eight years. [2] That is a modest association across thousands of people, not eight in ten of anyone. See section 3. |
| "Brain Experts Now Say These 3 Cereals Age the Brain Faster Than Time""Scientists Now Say This 1 Cereal Ages the Brain Faster Than Time" | Exaggerated No food ages the brain "faster than time." That phrase was written for effect and it is not a finding from any study. It is also internally inconsistent: in one version it is three cereals, in another it is one, because the number is something we test for click-through, not something anyone measured. The grain of truth: diets high in ultra-processed food are associated with somewhat faster slippage on thinking tests over years. [2] That is a modest effect across a population, not a fate sealed by a bowl of cereal. See section 3. |
| "Doctors Now Say This Popular Evening Drink Is Behind Memory Loss""Doctors Now Say This Popular Evening Drink Is Behind Brain Health Decline" | Partly true The "evening drink" is alcohol, and of everything our ads point at, this is where the evidence is strongest. In British civil servants followed for thirty years, higher drinking went with shrinkage of the hippocampus, the region most involved in forming memories, and with faster decline in word fluency; light drinkers had no edge over non-drinkers. [1] What is overstated is the word "behind." Alcohol is one contributing factor among many, not the cause of memory slips. Cutting back is a genuinely good idea. It is also worth saying plainly: the bottle we sell contains no alcohol and no caffeine; it is four plant extracts in a capsule of plant fiber. |
| "Doctors Name 5 Popular Drinks Now Tied To Memory Decline. Coffee Tops The List""Seniors: These 4 Drinks May Be Aging Your Brain Faster""The 4 Drinks Brain Doctors Want Seniors to Quit""Neurologists Say Cognitive Decline Isn't Age: Just Stop Drinking These 2 Popular Drinks""Doctors: 3 Popular Drinks Now Tied to Memory Loss in Seniors" | Exaggerated Notice that the count changes: two drinks, three, four, five. It changes because it is an advertising variable we rotate, not a number that came out of a study. No neurologist is named in any version, because none was consulted. "Coffee tops the list" is the clearest thing we have got wrong: none of the studies on this page is about plain coffee. If you drink coffee and enjoy it, this headline gave you a reason to worry that the evidence does not support. The Food and Drug Administration cites 400 milligrams of caffeine a day, two to three 12-ounce cups of brewed coffee, as an amount not generally associated with negative effects in most healthy adults. [3] See section 2. |
| "Brain Doctors: Quit These 4 Drinks Before It's Too Late" | Exaggerated No brain doctor was consulted for this headline, and there is no "too late." The deadline was invented to make you click. The four drinks are the ones in section 2: alcohol, sugar-sweetened soft drinks, energy drinks and sweetened coffee-shop drinks. Cutting back on them is sensible for your nights, your weight and your wallet, and heavy drinking travels with poorer memory outcomes over years. [1] There is no evidence that quitting them on any particular day changes anything about your memory, and there is no age after which the change stops being worth making. See section 2. |
| "Memory Slipping? Check These 4 Everyday Drinks First" | Partly true Half right, in the wrong order. If your memory is slipping, the first thing to check is not a drink; it is a conversation with your own clinician about your nights, your hearing and what you take daily, none of which is settled by changing what you pour. The four drinks are the everyday ones in section 2: alcohol, sugary soft drinks, energy drinks and sweetened coffee drinks. Reviewing them is a reasonable second step. Not enough plain water belongs on the list too. See section 2. |
| "America's Top Experts Say Mental Decline Isn't Aging: Just Avoid These 5 Kitchen Drinks" | Exaggerated The same construction as the "Japan's doctors" headline above, with the country changed. No panel of American experts issued this statement, and we cannot point you to one. Memory changes with age, and no drink removes that. The five kitchen drinks are alcohol, sugar-sweetened sodas, diet sodas, energy drinks and sweetened coffee-shop drinks, all in section 2, where the honest version of each is written out. "Just avoid" overstates what any of that evidence shows. See section 2. |
| "Still Sharp at 90? Seniors Are Rethinking These 3 Everyday Foods" | Partly true The gentlest of our headlines, and still an overstatement. Nobody knows what keeps a particular person sharp at 90, and no single food does it. The three everyday foods are sugary breakfast cereals, processed meats and packaged baked goods, all in section 3. Eating less of them is part of the long, slow habits in section 5, and no food is a promise at any age. See sections 3 and 5. |
| "A 609-milligram blend with eighteen names and not one number" | Partly true True as far as it goes, and it needs the other half to be fair. The panel does print a single proprietary blend line of 609 milligrams followed by eighteen names with no individual amounts, and that is an accurate description of the back of this bottle. What the headline leaves out is the rest of the panel: twenty-two vitamins and minerals, each with its own printed amount, which come to roughly 434 milligrams a serving and which anyone can look up. Half of this bottle is entirely checkable, and we should say so when we say the other half is not. See section 6. |
| "Four Hundred Thirty-Four Milligrams Are Counted. Six Hundred Nine Are Not." | Broadly supported This is the one headline we run that states nothing but arithmetic you can do yourself on the back of the bottle, and both numbers check out. Adding the twenty-two printed vitamin and mineral amounts on the panel, converted to a common unit, gives about 434 milligrams per two-capsule serving; the proprietary blend line prints 609 milligrams for eighteen substances with no split between them. The headline makes no claim about what either number does for anybody. It does not say the bottle works, it does not say 609 milligrams is too much or too little, and it does not suggest the blend conceals anything: it says only that the larger of the two numbers cannot be broken down, which is a fact about the label and not about your memory. Section 6 sets each name in that blend beside the amount its own trial used. |
| "Neurologists Name 5 Popular Prescriptions Now Tied to Memory Decline" | Partly true, and the one not to act on alone No neurologist named a list for us, and we will not print one. What is true is that pharmacists keep lists of everyday products, some sold over the counter, that are often a poor fit after 65, and that a yearly look at everything you take is worth having. But an advertisement is the worst possible reason to change anything a clinician gave you: never stop or change it because of something you read in an ad, including ours. Put everything you take in one bag, this bottle included, and ask your pharmacist. See the box at the end of section 2. |
An honest answer: these headlines appear beside real news stories, competing for attention with everything else on the page, and dramatic phrasing gets clicked. That is the incentive, and we are subject to it like every other advertiser.
It is also why this page exists. Once you are here, you are entitled to know exactly which claims we can stand behind and which ones were written to get your attention. Everything below is the sober version.
Our headlines have referred, in different versions, to "3 beverages", "4 drinks", "5 popular drinks", "2 popular drinks" and "this popular evening drink" without ever naming them. Here is the complete list of what we were pointing at, and what the research actually supports for each one. Where a study is cited, it is observational unless stated otherwise: it can show that two things travel together in a population, not that one causes the other.
This is the "popular evening drink" · Best-supported of the group
What the research says. A long-running study of British civil servants found that higher drinking, even at moderate levels, went with shrinkage of the hippocampus and faster decline in word fluency, and that light drinkers had no advantage over people who did not drink. [1] Alcohol also disturbs your nights and interacts with many everyday medicines.
Honest verdict. Of everything on this list, cutting back on alcohol has the strongest case behind it. It is still not "the cause" of memory slips, and no amount of cutting back is a promise.
About the product we sell. It contains no alcohol. It is a vegetable capsule of vitamins, minerals and plant extracts, two capsules a day.
Important. If you drink heavily every day, do not stop abruptly on your own. Ask your clinician how to cut back safely.
Part of the "3 popular drinks" and "4 drinks" · Partly supported
What the research says. Soft drinks sit on the ultra-processed shelf, and in a Brazilian study of 10,775 adults followed for about eight years, the people who ate and drank the most from that shelf slipped somewhat faster on thinking tests than those who ate the least. [2]
Honest verdict. A reasonable thing to cut down on, mostly for reasons that have nothing to do with a dramatic headline. Replacing them with water is a cheap, low-risk change.
Often the "surprising" drink in our ads · No evidence we can stand behind
What the research says. We are not aware of a study that gives a clear answer about diet soft drinks and everyday memory, and we cite none here.
Honest verdict. Unresolved, and not a reason to panic. Anyone who tells you diet soda has been shown to harm your memory is going beyond the evidence.
About the product we sell. It is not a drink at all. It is a capsule, and the other ingredients on its panel are rice flour, the vegetable capsule shell, magnesium stearate and silicon dioxide.
Part of the "4 drinks brain doctors want seniors to quit" · Indirect concern
What the research says. There is little direct research linking energy drinks to memory. The concern for older adults is more immediate: high caffeine loads combined with sugar can bring a faster heartbeat, palpitations, jitters, an upset stomach and a poor night. [3]
Honest verdict. Worth avoiding if you are over 65 or sensitive to caffeine, for those reasons rather than any demonstrated memory effect. The bottle we sell contains green tea leaf extract inside its blend, and no caffeine amount is printed anywhere on the panel or the listing, so if caffeine matters to you, ask the seller before you start. [4]
The version of "coffee" our ads should have named · Partly supported
What the research says. These are sugary drinks that happen to contain coffee. Whatever applies to sugar-sweetened beverages applies to them. A large flavored frappé can carry as much added sugar as a soft drink.
Honest verdict. If our "coffee" headline had meant this, it would have been defensible. It did not, and we should have been specific.
Part of the "3 beverages" · Partly supported
What the research says. Same story: the sugar is the issue, not the tea or the fruit. Whole fruit behaves quite differently from fruit juice, which delivers the sugar without the fiber.
Honest verdict. Treat these as soft drinks, because nutritionally that is largely what they are. Plain green tea, incidentally, is the oldest way people have taken one of the eighteen names in this blend, and a pot of it declares its caffeine about as well as this panel does, which is to say not at all.
Named in our headline as the worst offender · Our headline was wrong
What the research says. None of the studies on this page is about ordinary black coffee or plain tea, and tea is a routine part of the eating patterns studied for memory. Caffeine late in the day can cost you a night, so timing matters more than the drink itself. The Food and Drug Administration cites 400 milligrams of caffeine a day, two to three 12-ounce cups of brewed coffee, as an amount not generally associated with negative effects in most healthy adults. [3]
Honest verdict. "Coffee Tops The List" was a bad headline. If you drink coffee, enjoy it, and it does not cost you your nights, the evidence does not ask you to give it up.
We do not print a list, and you should not act on one from an advertisement. Do not stop, reduce or skip anything a clinician gave you because of this page or any of our headlines.
The right action is simple: put everything you take, including what you buy over the counter, into one bag with this bottle and take it to your pharmacist. Ask: "Is anything here a poor choice at my age, and does anything in this bottle argue with the rest of the bag?" There are four lines on this panel we would point at ourselves: the green tea leaf extract, which may reduce how well some everyday products work, [4] the grapefruit seed extract, the licorice root extract, and the 2.6 milligrams of iron. The label itself says to take the capsules with food or as directed by your healthcare professional.
The food headlines referred to "3 foods" and to "cereals": one cereal in some versions, three in others. Again, the number was ours, not a finding. Here is what was meant, and what stands behind it.
The "3 cereals" / "1 cereal" that "age the brain faster than time" · Partly supported
What the research says. Frosted, honey-coated and chocolate cereals are mostly refined starch and added sugar, and many carry more sugar per serving than a cookie. They sit on the ultra-processed shelf that travels with faster slippage on thinking tests over years. [2] No study has found that any cereal "ages the brain faster than time." That phrase is ours and it is not defensible. In the Framingham families, diets that carried more choline, which is eggs, milk, meat and beans, went with better scores on memory tests. [5]
Honest verdict. Reading the sugar figure on the box is a sensible habit. Plain oats, plain shredded wheat and unsweetened whole-grain cereals are inexpensive swaps, and eggs, milk and beans are where that study's choline came from. The bottle we sell does print a choline line, at 50 milligrams, which is about a ninth of a day's adequate intake for a man and nothing like a meal's worth.
The honest version of all our food headlines · Partly supported
What the research says. A large Brazilian cohort found that adults with the highest intake of ultra-processed foods slipped faster on overall thinking and planning tests over roughly eight years than those who ate the least. [2] This is observational, the effect size was modest, and diet is tangled up with income, education and dozens of other factors.
Honest verdict. The pattern of your food over years matters more than any single item. That is a duller message than "these 3 foods", which is exactly why our headlines do not say it.
Usually one of the "3 foods" · Partly supported
What the research says. Processed meats are part of the ultra-processed shelf in the study above. [2]
Honest verdict. Worth moderating. Not an emergency, and not undone by any supplement or any capsule.
Usually one of the "3 foods" · Partly supported
What the research says. Fast food sits on the same shelf, and the same study applies. [2]
Honest verdict. Same as above: pattern over years, not any one meal.
The refined-carbohydrate group · Partly supported
What the research says. The eating pattern most studied for memory is the MIND pattern: leafy greens, berries, beans, nuts, whole grains, olive oil and fish. In a three-year trial of 604 older adults, the group that ate that way and a group that simply ate a little less both improved their thinking scores, by about the same amount. [6] Berries, leafy greens, beans, nuts, olive oil and fish are ordinary groceries; eating them costs nothing extra and is untroubled by any of the cautions on this page.
Honest verdict. The useful advice was never "stop eating these 3 foods." It is "shift the overall pattern," which takes months and cannot be sold in a headline.
Drink less alcohol. Drink less sugar. Keep your coffee, earlier in the day if it costs you your nights. Eat more like the MIND or Mediterranean pattern (vegetables, whole grains, beans, nuts, olive oil, fish, berries) and less like a vending machine. Every one of those changes costs nothing extra, and none of them requires anything we sell.
Several of our headlines invite you to test yourself on words or phrases: spell these three words, pronounce these three phrases, see whether you say these seven phrases. There is no such validated test, and we cannot give you a real one, because a real one does not work that way.
What an actual memory check looks like. Clinicians use short structured checks. They do include word tasks: recalling three unrelated words after a delay, naming animals, repeating a sentence. But three things make them different from an online quiz:
These checks also produce false alarms. A bad night, trouble hearing, and simply being nervous all lower scores in people whose memory is fine. This is precisely why an online word quiz is meaningless: it has none of the context that makes the real check useful.
We are sorry. Take it as a prompt rather than a verdict: if the worry is real, bring it to your own clinician and ask for a proper memory check. If it was just a startling headline, the reassurance you are looking for cannot come from a quiz on an advertising page, including this one.
If we only had one section to be useful in, this would be it. None of these is a supplement, a bottle, or a list of three foods, and none of them can be sold to you by us.
These are unglamorous. They cannot be delivered in a headline, they take years, and they are, by a wide margin, the most useful things on this entire page.
What each line printed on the panel of WOWMD Neuro Plus is, what it is traditionally used for, and what the cited research says, including who was in each study, at what amount and who paid for it. Two capsules are one serving, thirty servings to the bottle. Three notes on the panel itself, before the entries. The twenty-two vitamin and mineral lines each carry a printed amount and add to roughly 434 milligrams a serving. The 609-milligram line is a single proprietary blend shared among eighteen substances with no split printed anywhere, so divided equally that would be 33.8 milligrams each, which is the only yardstick the label leaves you. And the panel prints no standardization percentage for any extract in the blend, so the strength of each one is the seller's to declare.
A group line for products that print a full panel of vitamins and minerals with amounts, the way a one-a-day multivitamin does: the fat-soluble vitamins A, D and E, vitamin C, the B group (thiamin, riboflavin, niacin, B6, folate, B12, biotin, pantothenic acid, choline) and minerals such as calcium, iron, magnesium, zinc, selenium, copper, manganese, chromium, molybdenum and potassium.
Traditional and everyday use. The multivitamin tablet dates from the 1940s; most of these nutrients come from an ordinary varied diet.
What the research says. Large trials of multivitamins in older adults report small differences on memory tests at best, and single nutrients only matter when a person is short of them; iron is the line to watch, because men over 50 rarely need extra iron and a supplement can add to what the body already stores. Dietary choline had a cohort behind it.[5] The Daily Value figures on the panel are labelling figures, not trial doses.[8]
Amount per serving in Neuro Plus Brain & Focus Formula · 60 veggie capsules. B6 12 mg (706 %), vitamin E 40 mg (266 %), thiamin 3 mg (250 %), iron 2.6 mg (14 %) among them (a multivitamin's worth; the iron line is unusual in a product aimed at men)
Good to know. Vitamin E above 400 IU a day and iron in men with no shortage are the two lines a pharmacist would ask about; anyone taking a daily multivitamin already is doubling up.
A creeping perennial of wet ground and pond edges across India, with small oblong leaves and white to pale purple flowers. In some parts of India the name "brahmi" is also given to gotu kola, which is a different plant; some products list both.
Traditional and everyday use. One of the best-known plants of Ayurvedic practice, traditionally associated with memory, calm and sleep.
What the research says. This is the one ingredient on the tin with trials in the right age group. In 54 healthy adults aged 65 and older, 300 mg a day of a standardized extract for 12 weeks was associated with better delayed word recall and better performance on a task of ignoring distractions than placebo, with no effect on divided attention or working memory.[9] In 98 healthy adults over 55, the same daily amount for 12 weeks was associated with better verbal learning and delayed recall, while other measures did not differ.[10] A meta-analysis of nine such trials found faster performance on two attention-speed tests, by milliseconds, and called for a large well-designed trial.[11] All of that used standardized extracts in tablets for at least three months. A pinch of dried plant steeped in a twelve-ingredient tea blend, or a fraction of a milligram of glycosides in a spray, is not the same thing, and nobody has tested either.
Amount per serving in Neuro Plus Brain & Focus Formula · 60 veggie capsules. part of a 609 mg blend; no amount printed (the trials in adults over 55 used 300 mg a day of a standardized extract on its own)
Good to know. The trials reported more stomach upset, looser stools, cramps and nausea than placebo.[10] Reference texts advise caution for anyone who takes anything daily for the body's own hormones, note it may slow the heart rate, and note it can affect how the organ that processes what you swallow handles some medicines. Talk to your doctor before use if you take anything daily.
A purified alkaloid isolated from a Chinese club moss. It slows the enzyme that breaks down acetylcholine, so it acts on the nervous system in a way most botanical ingredients do not, and it is the one ingredient on this label that behaves more like a medicine than like a food.
Traditional and everyday use. The moss has a history of use in Chinese herbal practice; the purified compound is a twentieth-century isolate.
What the research says. In a placebo-controlled study of healthy adults (12 per group), single doses of 100 or 200 µg of huperzine A slowed the enzyme that breaks down acetylcholine, measured in the blood; the 200 µg dose held declarative recall steady across sessions, but neither dose improved overall performance.[12] Most other research on huperzine A has been done in people with a diagnosed condition and is not cited here.
Amount per serving in Neuro Plus Brain & Focus Formula · 60 veggie capsules. part of the blend; no amount printed (a potent compound whose amount matters, and it isn't given)
Good to know. Because it acts on acetylcholine it can cause nausea, sweating, a slow heartbeat or muscle twitching, and it can add to the effect of anything else that acts on the same system. Not for pregnancy or breastfeeding. Talk to your doctor before use if you take anything for your heart, your breathing or your nervous system.
A small nitrogen-containing compound, 2-(dimethylamino)ethanol, that is chemically related to choline and occurs naturally in small amounts in oily fish such as sardines and anchovies. In supplements it is usually supplied as the bitartrate salt.
What the research says. There is no good-quality research on DMAE and memory or attention in healthy adults, and we make no claim for it here.
Amount per serving in Neuro Plus Brain & Focus Formula · 60 veggie capsules. part of the blend; no amount printed (a choline-like compound with no memory trial in healthy adults)
Good to know. Not enough is known about its safety in pregnancy or breastfeeding, so it should be avoided then. Talk to your doctor before use if you take anything daily.
A phospholipid, one of the fatty building blocks of cell membranes, present in high concentration in brain tissue. Supplement phosphatidylserine is made from soy or sunflower lecithin; this product uses soy.
What the research says. In a six-month double-blind trial of 78 Japanese adults aged 50 to 69 with memory complaints, soy phosphatidylserine at 100 or 300 mg a day was safe, and test scores rose similarly in every group including placebo; only the subgroup that started with low scores improved from its own baseline, mostly in delayed word recall.[13] The main comparison with placebo, in other words, was null.
Amount per serving in Neuro Plus Brain & Focus Formula · 60 veggie capsules. part of the blend; no amount printed (the trials used 100 to 300 mg a day on their own)
Good to know. Made from soy, so relevant to anyone with a soy allergy: note that the store's own product tags say "Soy Free" while the panel says "from Non-GMO soy". Talk to your doctor before use if you take anything that affects clotting or take anything daily.
A small amino acid that the body makes from glutamate and that acts as the main calming (inhibitory) chemical messenger of the nervous system; it is also produced by yeasts and bacteria and is sold as a supplement, usually made by fermentation. Whether GABA swallowed as a supplement reaches the brain at all is an open question that the researchers who study it raise themselves.
Traditional and everyday use. No traditional use; a supplement of the last few decades, marketed for calm and focus.
What the research says. In a randomized placebo-controlled experiment in healthy young adults, a single 800 mg dose of oral GABA was associated with fewer order errors in a rapid visual temporal-attention task and no effect on spatial attention; the authors called the result preliminary and noted the unresolved question of whether oral GABA crosses the blood-brain barrier.[14] A second trial by a related group reporting better action selection after 800 mg was retracted in 2022 and is not cited here. No trial has tested GABA for memory in older adults, and 800 mg is more than 26 times the 30 mg in one squeeze of this product.
Amount per serving in Neuro Plus Brain & Focus Formula · 60 veggie capsules. part of the blend (a brain messenger that barely crosses from the blood)
Good to know. Generally well tolerated at supplement doses in short studies; because it is marketed as calming, be cautious combining it with anything that makes you drowsy, and talk to your doctor before use if you take anything daily.
The leaves of the tea plant, dried without the oxidation that turns the same leaves into black tea. Green, black and oolong teas all come from this one plant; only the processing differs.[4] It is the first ingredient printed on this tin, so it is very likely the bulk of the blend.
Traditional and everyday use. Drunk daily across Asia for centuries, and the base of most flavored tea blends sold today.
What the research says. Green tea carries caffeine and a small amount of the amino acid L-theanine. In one study in adults aged 50 to 69, a single dose of L-theanine was associated with a faster reaction time on an attention task and fewer errors on a working-memory task.[15] The summary of that study does not state the dose, and the tin does not state how much green tea is in a teaspoon. The National Institutes of Health notes that green tea contains caffeine, that harm to the organ that processes what you swallow has been reported mainly with green tea extracts in tablet or capsule form rather than with the drink, and that green tea may reduce the effectiveness of some medicines.[4]
Amount per serving in Neuro Plus Brain & Focus Formula · 60 veggie capsules. part of the blend (caffeine content not declared)
Good to know. It contains caffeine, so it is a daytime cup, not a bedtime one, and worth limiting if caffeine unsettles your heart or your stomach. Green tea may reduce the effectiveness of some medicines (the NIH names nadolol, atorvastatin and raloxifene).[4] Talk to your doctor or pharmacist before drinking it daily if you take anything daily, or if you are pregnant or nursing.
The most plentiful free amino acid in the body. Almost every human cell can make it, which is why it has traditionally been classed as nonessential; it feeds the cells of the gut lining and the immune system and carries nitrogen between organs. It comes with any protein you eat: meat, fish, eggs, dairy, beans. [16]
Traditional and everyday use. Used in hospital nutrition for seriously ill or injured patients, when the body's demand outruns its own production; the clinical studies used about 0.57 grams per kilogram of body weight a day, roughly 30 grams for a 70-kilogram adult. [16]
What the research says. No study has tested L-glutamine for memory or attention in healthy adults; there is nothing to cite. The hospital studies used tens of grams a day in people who were seriously ill, which says nothing about a spray in a healthy person. [16]
Amount per serving in Neuro Plus Brain & Focus Formula · 60 veggie capsules. part of the blend (amino acids the body makes in quantity)
Good to know. Well tolerated in food amounts. Reference texts advise care with high supplement doses in people whose kidneys, or the organ that processes what you swallow, are under strain. Talk to your doctor before taking it daily if you take anything daily.
A sugar-like compound that was once counted among the B vitamins and is still sold under the nickname "vitamin B8". It is not a vitamin: the kidney and the organ that processes what you swallow make it from glucose at up to 4 to 5 grams a day, mostly in the kidney, so it is no longer considered an essential nutrient. It is most abundant in fresh fruit and vegetables and in seeds such as beans, whole grains and nuts. [17]
Traditional and everyday use. Sold as a supplement for many purposes; none of the published trials concern memory or attention in healthy adults.
What the research says. No study has tested inositol for memory or attention in healthy adults; there is nothing to cite. The body's own daily production, several grams, dwarfs anything a spray can carry. [17]
Amount per serving in Neuro Plus Brain & Focus Formula · 60 veggie capsules. part of the blend (a sugar-like compound the body makes)
Good to know. Inositol from food and in gram amounts as a supplement is generally well tolerated; large supplement doses can cause stomach upset. Talk to your doctor before taking it daily if you take anything daily.
The two long-chain omega-3 fats of oily fish (salmon, sardines, anchovies, mackerel, herring). DHA is a building block of nerve-cell membranes; EPA is a precursor of signaling molecules. Supplements come as fish oil, krill oil, algal oil or, in RELEVATE, herring roe phospholipids.
Traditional and everyday use. Fish has been eaten for brain and heart for as long as there have been fishermen; fish-oil supplements date from the 1980s.
What the research says. The randomized trials in healthy older adults are mostly null: a 2012 Cochrane review of three trials in 3,536 people over 60 found no difference from placebo on mental-status scores or on word learning, digit span and verbal fluency;[18] an 18-month trial of 390 adults aged 65 to 90 taking 2.3 g a day of DHA-rich fish oil found no benefit and a small negative effect on psychomotor speed;[19] and the three-year DO-HEALTH trial found no effect of 1 g a day on a cognitive screening score.[20] A 2015 meta-analysis did find that DHA, alone or with EPA, improved episodic memory in adults with mild memory complaints, and that doses above 1 g a day helped episodic memory regardless of baseline.[21] One 24-month trial of 60 adults over 65 combining 1 g of fish oil with carotenoids and vitamin E found fewer working-memory errors.[22] A 2018 review of 51 trials concluded the question is still open.[23]
Amount per serving in Neuro Plus Brain & Focus Formula · 60 veggie capsules. part of the blend (the fish-oil trials used about a gram a day)
Good to know. Fishy burps and loose stools are the common complaints. Doses above about 3 g a day can affect bleeding: ask a pharmacist if you take blood thinners or have an operation planned. Fish allergy excludes fish-derived products.
The small dark European cousin of the blueberry, picked wild in northern forests and eaten in jams and pies; the extract concentrates its purple pigments.
Traditional and everyday use. Eaten as fruit for centuries; the extract became a supplement for the eyes in the twentieth century.
What the research says. We registered no trial of bilberry on memory or attention in healthy adults for this page; the blueberry study on record used a concentrate of its American cousin.[24]
Amount per serving in Neuro Plus Brain & Focus Formula · 60 veggie capsules. part of the blend (six plant extracts with no memory trial at any dose)
Good to know. A food; ask a pharmacist if you take anything that affects clotting.
*These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. This information does not constitute medical advice and it should not be relied upon as such. This product is not a substitute for medication or other treatment prescribed by a physician or health care provider. Consult your doctor before starting any dietary supplement.
Set against the headlines that brought you here, this is the complete and honest position.
Things we cannot promise, and that nobody selling you a supplement can:
Things we can say honestly:
No. Those attributions are advertising language. No named or identifiable expert made those statements, and none has endorsed this product.
None of the studies on this page is about plain coffee, and our "Coffee Tops The List" headline overstated it. What is worth watching is added sugar in coffee drinks, and caffeine late enough in the day to cost you a night. The Food and Drug Administration cites 400 milligrams of caffeine a day as an amount not generally associated with negative effects in most healthy adults. [3]
The blend contains green tea leaf extract, which contains caffeine, and no caffeine amount is printed on the panel or the listing. [4] If that matters to you, ask the seller in writing before the first capsule.
No. Not on your own, and not because of an advertisement. Take everything you take to your pharmacist and ask whether anything is a poor fit for your age.
Bacopa, inside the blend. Its trials in adults over 55 used 300 milligrams a day of a standardized extract for twelve weeks and reported better delayed recall and verbal learning than placebo, with more stomach trouble. [9] [10] A 2014 meta-analysis of nine trials in 518 people found faster attention speed and called for a large trial that has still not been run. [11] The catch is that 300 milligrams is about half the whole 609-milligram blend, and the seller does not say how much bacopa is in it.
Because it is inside a proprietary blend, which the rules allow a seller to declare as one total weight. The split is the company's to keep, and 609 milligrams shared among eighteen names is all a buyer is told.
The percentage is large because the Daily Value for B6 is small, 1.7 milligrams, and 12 milligrams sits well under the 100-milligram upper level set for adults. [27] The harms described in that fact sheet occur at chronic intakes hundreds of times higher.
California requires a notice before a business knowingly exposes anyone to a substance on a long state list, at thresholds far below ordinary food regulation, and lead is on that list. It tells you the product falls under that rule; it is not a published measurement of this bottle. A fair question to put to the seller in writing is whether finished lots are tested for heavy metals.
Sixty capsules is thirty servings at two capsules a day, so one bottle is thirty days.
The seller gives sixty days on a first single-bottle purchase only. Original shipping is not refunded, and requests are processed within five to seven business days.
The widget counts 540 with an average of 4.7 stars, and twenty-five are readable through its public feed. All twenty-five were written between May and August of this year and twenty-two carry a confirmed-purchase mark; five are quoted elsewhere on this site.
A fair question. Do not take our word for it. The references below are real, published sources you can look up yourself, and nothing in sections 4 and 5 requires you to buy anything or trust us. If this page and our headlines disagree, believe this page.
No. There is nothing to sign up for, and you are welcome to read it, close the tab and never come back.
Yes, and you should. Every numbered reference below can be found by searching its authors and journal. For general information, the National Institute on Aging (nia.nih.gov) publishes plain-language material and sells nothing.
These are the sources behind the claims marked with a number above. Several are observational studies, which can show association but not cause. The trials of the substances inside the blend each tested one substance at a time, at an amount the label of this bottle does not print; the government fact sheets are the governments' own. None of them tested this bottle. We have deliberately not cited anything for the claims we describe as exaggerated, because there is nothing to cite.
Citing a study does not mean the study is about this product. The studies above tested one substance at a time, in other people, at amounts this bottle does not state; none of the research tested WOWMD Neuro Plus, and none of it supports it.
This site is an advertising publication. The Lantern Hour is not a news organization, is not affiliated with any news outlet whose page our advertisements appear on, and is not affiliated with the National Institutes of Health, the Nobel Foundation, the Food and Drug Administration, or any medical body, university or government agency named on this page. Logos and names of publishers appear in our reporting dashboards only to describe where advertisements were placed; they imply no endorsement whatsoever.
The product on this site is sold by WOW MD LLC of Missouri City, Texas. Headlines used in our advertising are promotional and may be dramatized, generalized or exaggerated for attention. Where a headline conflicts with this page, this page is correct. Individual results, testimonials and endorsements do not represent typical results. We are compensated when readers purchase products through our links.
Medical disclaimer. Nothing on this page is medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. Do not delay seeking professional advice, and do not stop or change anything a clinician gave you, because of anything you read here. If you are worried about memory or concentration, your own or a family member's, speak to a qualified healthcare professional. In an emergency, call your local emergency number.